General information for entering Hungary - Visa Information

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 21 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of December 19th 2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 28 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. (For the time being 6 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay longer than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.

Visa Issuance

Bahraini citizens are required to have a valid Schengen visa to enter Hungary.

The Honorary Consulate of Hungary does NOT issue visas in Bahrain.

Applicants MUST apply for the Hungarian Schengen visa through the VFS Global office.

You may find more information:

Further Information

For appointments and exact requirements (as it depends for each nationality),
please contact the respective Hungarian Embassy as mentioned above.



For general enquires, please contact the Honorary Consulate at

To find out more about how to apply for a visa, please visit

For more information about Hungary, please visit

Photo Gallery

Think Hungary - More than expected